Announcing Bread Baking Day #47 – Bread with Chocolate!

February 6, 2012 at 12:12 am | Posted in Bread Baking Day, Breads | 23 Comments
Tags: , , , , ,

A few days ago, I received an email from zorra of 1x Umruhren Bitten, who founded Bread Baking Day back in 2007, asking if I wanted to host BBD #47.  I was excited and flattered.  I was always hoping I’d get to host one, and now it’s here!  She asked me to come up with a theme, and suddenly, I was stumped!  Most everything, it seemed, had already been done.  Then it hit me..it’s February, the month of love, with Valentines Day smack in the middle, about one week from now.  What do we associate most with Valentines Day outside of red roses?  Chocolate!

I’m asking you all to make any bread you like, as long as it contains yeast, wild or commercial, and incorporate chocolate into your bread any way you want, whether it be all chocolate, bits of chocolate, swirls of chocolate, chocolate stuffed, chocolate topped etc.  The possibilities are endless!  Think pain au chocolate, chocolate babka, yeasted coffee cake, buns or rolls, chocolate pizza, or something like my chocolate, cinnamon. raisin swirl challah.  How about chocolate or chocolate glazed donuts?  Your bread doesn’t even have to be sweet or dessert like.  Chocolate works very well in savory! A baguette with spicy chocolate, perhaps?  A loaf with savory ingredients and chocolate? As long as you combine a yeasted dough of any kind, with any kind of chocolate – you’re golden!  It’s ok if you add other ingredients such as nuts, dried fruits, or anything your heart desires – as long as it’s a bread that contains chocolate.  Get creative, be daring..but most of all, have fun!  If you’ve never taken part in Bread Baking Day before, check out the round-up of last months Bread Baking Day (#46), hosted by Noor of Ya Salam Cooking.

To take part in this event, you are required to do all of the following;

  • Create and bake your bread
  • Post about it on your blog, then link that post back to this post
  • If you’re blog is in another language, just make sure you post an English version of the recipe
  • When you’re done, email me at parsleynsage@yahoo.com … with BBD #47 in the subject line, and include the following;

1. Your name
2. The name of your blog and the URL
3.  The name of your bread and the URL to the post (permalink)
4. Your location – where you are from.
5.  A photo of your bread,  no larger than 500 pixels wide by 400 pixels long.

– The deadline for your submission will be March 1st 2012, at midnight Eastern Time.
– The round-up of all the submissions will appear here on March 5th, 2012
– Your bread must be made in the month of February, 2012 – the latest, March 1st, 2012.
– If you’d like me to contact you when the round-up is up, please include that in your email to me.

If you want, use the logo in the upper left hand corner at the top of this post, in your post, to promote the event.  Just right-click and save it to a location on your computer.  Link it to zorra’s BBD#47 announcement or this post.

I’m really looking forward to seeing what you all come up with!

Bookmark and Share

23 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I can’t wat to see the results! there’s nothing better than bread with chocolate…

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  2. Whoa.. I’ve never done anything like this but I bake a lot of bread. I’ve never done chocolate bread but hey, can’t be that hard, right? Even crap bread would be pretty good if it had chocolate in it. 🙂

  3. On stand-by to see your chocolate and bread posts.. it will be heavenly. So sorry I can’t partake, I’m working on a bake sale this week:)

  4. Great concept with chocolate. How cool to see what people will create from your inspiration.

  5. Is anyone elgible to do this, Lisa? Do I need to sign up to the group or just follow the instructions in your post? Chocolate sounds like the perfect reason to bake bread!

    suesue121255@hotmail.com

    • Sue, no membership at all, just join in by following the list on how to enter. I’m so glad you want to take part. You will most certainly bake one heck of an amazing bread with chocolate!

  6. I would love to take part in this! 🙂 Hope I get something done in time!

  7. I’m going to try to participate!

  8. Wow! Cool! This is such a great idea
    Sounds absolutely delicious! Always enjoy reading your blog.

  9. This sounds like a wonderful challenge! I’m not sure I’ll have time to participate this month, but even if I don’t you can bet I’ll be back here 1st March to check out the delicious entries 🙂

  10. Sounds like a great theme!!!

  11. Oh, I love this!!! I am totally doing it!!!

  12. i had done 🙂

    Here it is
    http://from-snuggs-kitchen.blogspot.com/2012/02/schokoladen-pflaumen-brot.html

  13. Bread or bread rolls filled with chocolate chips is a good & tasty thing!
    I can’t wait to see the tasty end results! 🙂

  14. YES! YES! YES!

  15. […] I have been on a bread baking binge for the last few months, when I saw this post I knew that I wanted to take part in it. While I have never participated in this before, Lisa, of […]

  16. […] Lisa’s blog Parsley, Sage, Desserts and Line Drives and was surprised I missed her post Announcing Bread Baking day #47, a monthly event started by  Zorra in […]

  17. BBD #47 – Oven-baked Berliner filled with Chocolate…

    I don’t like deep-frying, but I do love Berliner (doughnuts). Can you see my dilemma? Fortunately there is a solution: Oven-baked Berliner! I baked a bunch last week for a blog event with the theme carnival. While I was filling the doughnuts with jam …

  18. […] Michelle from Parsley, Sage is hosting Bread Baking Day #47, an event started by Zorra from 1x Umrühren Bitte. She chose the theme for this month, Bread and […]

  19. […] seguir, aqui fica a minha participação no Bread Baking Day #47 que decorre em Fevereiro em casa da Lisa e tem como tema: Pão e Chocolate. (Quando era miúda  havia umas tabletes de chocolate que se […]

  20. […] this recipe to Susan’s collection of breads – Yeastspotting  and to Lisa’s Bread Baking Day #47 event /* Pin ItFacebook Comments Related […]

  21. […] 2012 bbd #47 – Bread with Chocolate hosted by Parsley, Sage, Desserts and Line Drives Roundup can be found […]

  22. […] of 1x Umruhren Bitten, that I participated in at Christmas time with my Pandolce Genovese.  BBD #47 is all about Bread & Chocolate. I was dreaming of chocolate brioche that Zio Antonio makes in Aosta at his pastry shops. My first […]


Leave a comment


Entries and comments feeds.