Berries + Yogurt + Flour, Eggs, Butter, Vanilla and Sugar = Berry Swirl Yogurt Cake

August 8, 2011 at 4:56 pm | Posted in Cakes, Dessert, Fruit | 58 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Double Berry Swirl Yogurt Cake

Before we moved to the town I grew up in, from NYC, we spent a few years in another town, in a huge apartment complex surrounded by vast, beautiful meadows, streams filled with tadpoles, froggies, fish and all things cool to a young, curious, nature loving girl.  I won’t get into the huge highway overpass that roared above us in the parking lot, nor the main roadway with a constant barrage of passing cars almost 24/7, less than a mile away, I will just keep us in the place where nature loomed and bloomed, with not much time left.


My fondest memory of this Garden apartment complex of Eden nestled within the asphalt, was the wild blackberry and raspberry bushes hidden in one small area behind the pussy willows and tall stalks of wheat-looking something or others that constitute ‘meadows’.  We would sit in the middle of this circle of bushes and pick plump, juicy, berries for hours, our lips, fingers and shirts stained purple and red.  I took this for granted – surely there’s wild bushes like this everywhere, right?  When we moved into our new house, I figured I’d have a whole backyard of them!

Unfortunately, the beautiful meadows and streams were eventually demolished to build a huge, modern, state of the art, high school and more apartment complexes, but fortunately, we were already moving out when this started happening.  Once we moved into our new home, I kind of forgot about wild berry bushes.  I loved cooking, but basic stuff, I was too young to think about or dabble in preparations calling for berries, outside of fresh berries topped with cream.

Cut to many years later – now I’m baking and cooking on a pretty regular basis, inhaling cookbooks like oxygen, pouring through gourmet magazines, reading a few chapters of Larousse Gastronomique nightly, and watching hours upon hours of Jacques Pepin showing me every cooking technique known to man (at that time), over and over.  I watched numerous cooking shows, but Jacques was my mentor.

I was falling madly in love with all things food, all things sweet and savory, all things plated and lovely.

All of this food exploration renewed my intense love of two berries with a deep fervor, two berries that I used to hang with and know very well, raspberries and blackberries.  I wanted to bake with them, make sauces with them, jam them, jelly them, you name it.  However, no wild and free berry bushes anywhere near me.  My berry passion led to many trips to the market, but was diluted with pints of mediocre, somewhat squashed berries in plastic containers with holes, and if I didn’t act quick, they’d morph into plastic containers of Swamp Things doing the creepy-crawly in the back of my fridge.

You never know how good you ‘had’ it until you want to cook and bake with it.

                             Like snowflakes, no two berry swirl cakes are alike

Cut to present.  A friend of mine attended a wedding in Seattle last summer.  One morning he called at the end of his daily workout and run.  As he was walking through the parking lot of the hotel he was staying in, he let out an audible ‘wow’ type of gasp.  He told me there were tons of wild blackberry bushes around the parking lot..filled to the brim with some of the biggest blackberries he’d ever seen.  He took a photo with his cell and sent it to me.  I let out an audible ‘wow’ type of-gasp as I listened to him eat those gorgeous berries.

“Wow, theesh are the jooshiest blackberriesh I’fe ever tayshted in my life!”

This was one of the photos he sent me.  Nice lookin’ Seattle wild blackberries!

The rest of his trip led to occasional phone calls and texts about how wherever he went, there were always blackberry bushes close by.

I contemplated a permanent move to Seattle, but only for a second.  I need sun on a more daily basis, although it’s an awesome city in a beautiful and bountiful state.  My ‘Seattle Lisa’ image contained tons of buckets in lieu of a purse –  picking blackberries from every bush I saw, so much so that I would have to balance an extra bucket on my head, like the Chiquita Banana chick on blackberryroids.

My history with yogurt is a bit different.  OK, a bit is understatement.  I hated it.  To me, yogurt was a bunch of annoying, little plastic containers that dominated our fridge since my mother ate it every.single.day.  They would come tumbling out and hit the floor while I was reaching for sandwich fixings or pudding cups, cracking open –  white, fruity goo all over the floor. I would actually gag while I was cleaning it up.   I hated, Hated, HATED how it smelled.

How could she eat this crap?”,  I would think and mutter faintly under my breath.

Don’t let these skinny swirls of berry fool you, because…..

My freshman year of college, there was a little truck on campus one day that was just giving yogurt away – Dannon yogurt.  One late night, craving something sweet, and nothing but our free Dannon haul in our mini-fridge, I had no choice but to confront my yogurt demons.  I was so hungry, I didn’t care..I was eating it.  One spoonful and BOOM, an explosion of creamy/tangy with sweet strawberries swirled throughout, sort of like pudding or custard, and I love puddings and custards.

Yogurt, why did I hate you so for so long?  OK, I admit, I had never tasted you before, but it was all because of those damn containers tumbling to the floor and cracking into cream of fruity ooze – plus, my mother’s obsession with you.  My apologies and regrets!

Well..now I’m obsessed, and I eat a container almost every day, and bake with it quite often.  As mentioned above, it’s in this cake, the Greek style, which has been my new favorite for quite a while.

When I decided to take advantage of an abundance of gorgeous blackberries and raspberries that came my way, I started with a blackberry swirl pound cake recipe I had bookmarked by Martha Stewart (wow, Martha is making a lot of appearances on my blog as of late).  Of course,  I wasn’t going to leave raspberries out and of course, I was probably going to change something.  That something was my former foe, yogurt, instead of the sour cream called for, and I don’t know why, but I had the urge to mix the berry purees with some of the cake batter prior to swirling them in.  Wow, thick, berry ribbons within the cake.  Success!

Make this cake..I promise you will love it – even if you don’t like berries and/or yogurt.

….when you mix some of the batter into the berry purees before spooning it on and swirling it into the batter, then cut into a slice vertically, this is what you get.  Thick ribbons of berry.

Double Berry Ribbon/Swirl Yogurt Pound ‘like‘ Cake
adapted from Martha Stewart, with my revisions

1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, room temperature, plus more for pan (or 1/2 cup neutral oil, like canola)
3 ounces blackberries (about a scant 3/4 cup)
3 ounces raspberries (about a scant 3/4 cup)
1 1/4 cups plus 2 tablespoons sugar
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon coarse salt
1/4 teaspoon baking powder
2 large eggs, lightly beaten
1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
1/2 cup Greek Yogurt, room temperature

NOTE:  I split the berry puree-batter mixes in half, using half of each for swirling into both layers of plain batter.  I did this to make two cakes.  Using all the berry purees in one cake is ideal, but either way is delicious!

DIRECTIONS:
1.Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Lightly butter a 9-by-5-inch loaf pan and line with parchment, leaving a 2-inch overhang on all sides; butter parchment. In a food processor, puree blackberries with 1 tablespoon sugar. Wipe out processor and puree raspberries with 1 tablespoon of sugar.  Pour/scrape into separate bowls and set aside (you can strain them into the bowls if you don’t like the light bit of seeds that do not break down).  In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, salt, and baking powder.

2. In a large bowl, using an electric mixer, beat together butter (or oil) and 1 1/4 cups sugar until light and fluffy, 5 minutes. Add eggs and vanilla and beat to combine, scraping down bowl as needed. With mixer on low, add flour mixture in 3 additions, alternating with Greek yogurt, beginning and ending with flour mixture.

3.  Stir two to three tablespoons of the cake batter into the bowl with the blackberry puree until uniform.  Stir two to three tablespoons of the cake batter into the bowl of raspberry puree, until uniform.

4. Pour half the plain batter into the pan and dot with 1/2 of the blackberry puree -batter mix and half the raspberry puree-batter mix – cake batter. It will seem like it takes over all the plain cake batter, but don’t worry, it all works out. Swirl/marble lightly using a skewer or knife.  Repeat with remaining batter and remaining puree-batter mixes, then again, swirl batter and puree-batter mixes together, pushing skewer or knife all the way to the bottom for a full marble.

5. Bake until golden brown and a toothpick inserted in center of cake comes out clean, about 1 1/4 hours. Let cool in pan on a wire rack, 30 minutes. Lift cake out of pan and place on a serving plate; let cool completely before slicing.

Double Berry Swirl Yogurt Cake
This cake is entered in the #cakelove bloghop! Come VOTE and/or enter your cake!

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

Bookmark and Share

58 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. This looks SO heavenly! 🙂 In leaving Washington I left my own little berry patch chock full of blackberries, but I was so excited to find GOOSEBERRIES here in Amsterdam. 🙂

  2. What a marvelous cake! I really love those beautiful swirls.

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  3. These are gorgeous! They look so moist and fresh! The pictures are terrific!

  4. Love the berry swirls…I know I’ll be making this one.

  5. These are beautiful! And I really love those berry pictures!

  6. I relate to your story so well- in reverse. After growing up/living in NY my whole life, I now live in Canada with a luscious raspberry bush right in my backyard. I’ve been picking them everyday!!!!

  7. I need to make this ASAP!

  8. What a wonderful memory you shared about the berry bushes… Sounds heavenly! And I love this recipe… just the kind of flavors I love! The pictures are fabulous too… I especially love the pictures of the swirled batter… Beautiful post!

  9. There are no words to describe how badly I want to eat this right now LOL. This looks and sounds awesomely delicious as usual, Lisa! ❤

  10. Your pics are particularly beautiful in this post! The cake looks awesome, but to be honest so do the fresh berries: they really are gorgeous.

    I enjoyed reading your trip down memory lane. Funny how our attitude toward certain foods changes over time…

  11. The berry swirls in the cake are absolutely gorgeous!

  12. Oh wowwwww, the photos of the batter are just AMAZING! This looks insanely beautiful, and im sure it tastes even better! I mean how could it not with such a gorgeous mix of flavours. Truly beautiful!!

  13. Wow!! the photos are mouth watering… The berry swirl is absolutely delicious

  14. These are beautiful even before they are baked. Can’t wait to give them a try.

  15. So so pretty.

  16. What a gorgeous bread, this looks fantastic!! So glad I found your blog, new follower! xoxo

  17. Whoa, so pretty! This is a gorgeous cake, and I LOVE yogurt cake so I definitely need to give a try. 🙂

  18. I live and have lived in Washington State my whole life, it’s true Blackberries are every where in the Pacific North West

    • I’ve heard they’re a nuisance to many and they look for ways to get rid of them! I guess these bushes grow like weeds, huh? Personally, I’d be loving it!! lol The Pacific Northwest is such a haven for wild berries and nature’s best edibles!

  19. Beautiful berry swirl cakes. I like that you made puree first then swirled it in, for people that don’t like the seeds it’s perfect. I have wonderful memories of my backyard being full with boysenberries and it was such a treat when we wanted a quick snack during our swimming time.

  20. Lisa, if there’s anything I love more than your creative recipes and passion for food, it’s…your sense of humor and ability to create a picture board as you tell a story and turn a phrase (“Eden nestled within the asphalt…”)

    Oh, your berry/yogurt pound cake. Sometimes, ya just wanna eat fresh and simple without all the bells, whistles, and circus elephants.

    Btw – why can’t Mo mow down the Sawx and Angels like every other team?? (sob, sniffle)

    • Thank you, J! First off, can’t believe we lost to the worst offense in baseball, especially after scoring 4 runs off of Haren. Sick of seeing AJ’s implosions every.single.game – but sad to see Mo declining 😦 Can’t get mad at him when he blows it.

  21. Everything you do always comes out so beautiful, and this is no exception. I want to come over for a slice and a cup of tea 🙂
    *kisses* HH

  22. I just got the ingredients to make this, it should be done in 2 hours. I am very excited. Especially because the raspberries will be coming from the garden, summer will be flowing throughout the house once this pops in the oven.

    • Let me know how it turns out for you, Alexander! 🙂

      • It was utterly heavenly. I couldn’t find any blackberries so I made cinnamon cherry ribbons in their place. One issue that I did have however was that the sugar amount seemed a little immense and even after reducing the amount it was still quite sweet. The whole house smells of summer though, as expected and I have your lovely recipe to thank for that.

  23. This may be the prettiest pound cake I’ve ever seen!

  24. This cake looks amazing! Those ribbons of berries… HEAVEN! I love it!

  25. Wow! This looks so beautiful and with all those berries and yogurt, it must be just delicious. We have quite a bounty of berries, so I will definitely be making this. Thanks for the great recipe!

  26. Reducing the sugar is a good idea! That said, cherries are sweeter than raspberries and blackberries, which are tart, unless they were sour cherries?

    • They were sour cherries, now on the next day the cake is even better and the ribbons are more defined. It is so good and velvety that I will be gifting away the second one I made. This is definitely a recipe I will be falling back on because it is simple and the results are amazing.

  27. Wow that sounded like a Utopia where you lived with the wild berries. Reminds me a little of one of my brief apartments of residence in elementary school. The apartments were surrounded by grass and trees. There was this one huge tree very close to my buddy’s apartment building that was incredible. It was nearly hollow inside and had closely spaced branches that we could climb up; A secret hangout spot hidden away from the world — perfect for imaginative kids. Unfortunately it was cut down soon after for blocking the AC unit or something silly. We moved away soon after, but I’ll still always remember it fondly. Anyway, love your sharing snippets of your childhood. This cake looks so yummy!

  28. You brought back my childhood berry-picking memories! We had raspberries in the yard and wild strawberries in a ditch at the end of the street. Now I make do with the rhubarb that grows at my mother’s and contemplate planting her huge backyard with lots of berries. I always use yogurt in cakes too, because I’m obsessed and I can’t stand sour cream. 🙂 Oh, and the cake? Gorgeous!

  29. Love the swirls! What a gorgeous looking cake!

  30. Oh, I’m so glad, Alexander! I was also going to suggest using only half of each berry puree-batter combo in the cake, then using the other half of each berry puree-batter combo to make another cake 🙂

  31. THis cake is gorgeous! I love the photo with the ribbons of berry, lovely, moist crumb! You have such awesome and extraordinary recipes and writing! Glad I found your blog!

  32. Beautiful cake !
    No doubt a delicious one as well

  33. Gorgeous cake! Cool berry ribbons!

  34. So beautiful and colorful. Berries rule, wish we could have fresh one at their best year round

  35. The look real moist and delicious. Love those blackberries they look so plump and sweet. Your photos really bring out the colors. Nice job once again 🙂

  36. Saw this on foodgawker and had to see more. I printed the recipe, can’t wait to make it! I’m a major blackberry lover myself!

  37. wooow, like this berry cake, swirls are pretty.

  38. oooh Lisa, the berry swirls are so pretty! I love raspberries and blackberries too. Over here in Australia, blackberries are so rampant they are considered a noxious weed and the plants are sprayed with poison to kill them off. We were lucky once to find a patch of juicy, ripe, unsprayed berries on our friend’s property, the berries didn’t make it back to the house 🙂 Can’t wait for summer to hurry up and get here so I can make this ckae.

  39. thanks for joining the #cakelove bloghop!! i LOVE the berry swirls in your bread. this looks soo moist and decadent!

  40. That swirled cake batter looks so good! I bet it was *berry* delicious 😀

  41. Thanks for linking up and I LOVE this cake from the moment I saw it!

  42. What a gorgeous cake – almost too pretty to eat! It must be heavenly with vanilla ice cream!

  43. beautiful colourful cake looks healthy and delicious

  44. This cake looks amazing! Already pinned for future reference:)

  45. Absolutely gorgeous! Cake-Love indeed! Thank you for sharing =).

  46. I’s love reading Larousse Gastronomique or watching Chopped while enjoying this beautiful and bet delicious berry swirl bread!

  47. Oh my! This berry swirl pound cake is beautiful! I love the overhead shots! I think I WILL make one and just stare at it for awhile:) Thanks for the recipe, Lisa! P.S. My mom and oldest sister used to eat plain yogurt when I was a kid~yuck!

  48. That is such a beautiful a goodlooking cake! I love that swirl. Really nice!

  49. I found myself wandering along a tree covered path. Warm sun rays pierced the swaying branches now and again, creating dancing shadows on the worn dirt road. I was feeling glum, having lost the Unicorn Cup at summer camp (again). Maybe next year, I thought. Suddenly a scent drifted gently by, beckoning me up a little hidden trail. I followed the path to a cute little house perched on a grassy hill. And that’s when I saw her – Lady Lisa – in her apron armor, with her rolling pin sword and pie tin shield. She offered me a slice of Double Berry Ribbon Swirl Yogurt Pound Cake. As I savored it, she and her gnome baking army performed the forbidden dance, making it rain. I raised my arms up to the sky, washing away my pain. I shall never forget her.

    • How could you leave out the part where the gnomes started selling my berry ribbon swirl cake on the side for extra money, soon stealing all my recipes and leaving me high and dry with a cute little house mortgage I could no longer afford, and a scant cup of flour?? DO NOT EVER mention those #@%#&%# gnomes again! ;>/

  50. So gorgeous! This really is calling out to me.

  51. It’s a wonderful cake!
    I made a few changes (as I wanted it to be non-dairy), and everyone just loved it.
    Thank you !:)
    You can see my post here, with a credit and link to your post
    http://winnish.blogspot.com/2011/10/blog-post_20.html

  52. WOW this is absolutely brilliant!


Leave a comment


Entries and comments feeds.